National CyberWatch Webcast: Ready or Not? Determining a student's readiness for an information security fundamentals course, Dec. 20, 2022

Cyber2yr2020: ACM Curriculum Guidance for Associate Degree Programs in Cybersecurity Webcast

After an intense curriculum development effort, the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Committee for Computing Education in Community Colleges (CCECC) has published Cybersecurity Curricular Guidance for Associate-Degree Programs, known as Cyber2yr2020. These guidelines are based on ACM’s CSEC2017 guidelines for 4-year programs and align with the Centers of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense (CAE-CD) 2Y 2019 knowledge units (requirements of the NSA and DHS National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense designation) and the National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (NICE) Cybersecurity Workforce Framework.

The Cyber2yr2020 curriculum content focuses on student competencies in the cognitive framework of Bloom’s Revised Taxonomy, and contains 58 competencies across eight security domains plus cross-cutting concepts. Each domain is further divided into subdomains with associated learning outcomes. The competencies and learning outcomes are designated as either Essential or Supplemental.

Panelists in this webcast will introduce the Cyber2yr2020 guidelines, which are applicable to both applied and transfer programs, and discuss how they could be used to create or update a two-year Cybersecurity program. Alignment with other frameworks of interest will be highlighted, including the CAE-CD Knowledge Units, the NICE Cybersecurity Workforce Framework, and ABET criteria for Cybersecurity programs. Program examples will be presented, and a process for correlating two-year Cybersecurity programs with the Cyber2yr2020 guidelines will be shared, along with the benefits of doing so.

Finally, panelists will also briefly discuss other ACM curriculum guidelines for two-year programs in IT and Computer Science that have been infused with discipline-appropriate cybersecurity concepts.


  • Cara Tang, Portland Community College, Portland, OR
  • Cindy Tucker, Bluegrass Community and Technical College, Lexington, KY
  • Christian Servin, El Paso Community College, El Paso, TX
  • Markus Geissler, Cosumnes River College, Sacramento, CA
  • Melissa Stange, Lord Fairfax Community College, Middletown, VA

Produced: May 28, 2020, 2pm ET

Webcast Recording